Monday, 4 November 2013

Cooler box of mystery Japanese Sweets - Kracie Choco-Neri (Neri Ame Chocolate) and Kracie Strawberry Choco-Neri (Neri Ame Chocolate)

Photo Heavy 

I have a cooler box, which is mostly full of random sweets and most of them are Japanese. I thought it was about time I had a go at one of the Kracie DIY kits which were lurking at the bottom of the box. Today I pulled out the Choco-Neri kits, in strawberry and chocolate. 



I have seen videos of these kits on the internet, the end result always intrigued me. 



Lets begin! Now I made both kits, but only took photos of the whole process with one, I didn't see the point in doing it twice when the end result is the same just a different flavour! 

First up 

Kracie Strawberry Choco-Neri (Neri Ame Chocolate)




 Above is the front, back and then the instructions. It seems pretty simple, the packets all come with a small water container which measures the amount of water you need to add.


Above are both the packets opened, as you can see, there is a plastic tray, with two sticks for stirring, you can only see one packet in the photo but there are three in total which you add at different stages. 

 Stage one - Open packet 1 and pour in to the plastic tray as below.

Stage two - Add 1 measurement of water


Step three - Mix until the powder has completely dissolved and turned into a bright pink runny liquid. 

Step four - Add packet 2 to the bright pink mix, these are small rice balls (rice krispies) 

Step five - Mix until all the balls are coated nicely with the pink mixture. 


 Step six - Add in the third and final packet, this seems to make everything extra sticky and gooey.


 Once everything is mixed in, its ready for you to taste



 As you can see from the above two photos, it gets very sticky.

Tasting it, you can really pick up on the fake strawberry, it smells fantastic really strong strawberry scent. 
The rice bits, went a little soggy and lost some of their crunch, and after a while the mixture sort of sets like cement. Think of melting marshmallows and then letting it puddle and then set again. That gooeyness and mess is just what this is like!! 








Below is the chocolate one, the process is just the same as above, but the outcome is chocolate falvour instead of strawberry! Thats a shocker right?!


Ok so the chocolate smells just like nesquick and tastes pretty good, again the rice bits have gone soggy not the best. I wonder what would've happened if you just put just packet 1 and 2 in! Maybe I should try sometime. Thinking about it a bit more the smell reminds me of the smell of hot chocolate. 




Now whilst I have been writing this, the food as sort of set. You have to try and pry it out the bottom of the tray! Still tastes OK though. 

I really enjoy these kits. I wish I could remember where I got them from. Its not something I would eat very often though as they are both quite sweet. 


Let me know if you want me to do more random cooler box mystery posts, I really do have more in there! I also have a few more of the Japanese DIY kits. 



No comments:

Post a Comment