Saturday, 27 September 2014

More cakes and a designer ice cream!

Following on from the post the other day where mag and I tried some of the nice and not so nice local cakes. Here are the last 2! 

First up we have the muffin, which is not quite a muffin but really wants to be a muffin. 

As you can see it really wants to be a muffin but it has a massive hole in the middle. Like wheres the top gone. Where is the dome?!
Oh well, it looked tasty. I cut it open and the cake part was very moist and looked lovely think the jam was raspberry. That tasted good too. All in all it was not bad. Certainly up there with the doughnut impostor. 
Vikx - 8 out of 10 
Mag - 7 out of 10 
Would recommend this one if you see it!

Next up we have a love heart pastry thing. 

 Oh how I wish this one was more exciting. Sadly its not. This review won't even be exciting. I mean I have no idea how to make a plan ass boring cake exiting. 
OK on to the cake, its all pasty with a custard filling. Cutting it open, we found that there was a decentish layer of filling inside, although I feel there was too much of a gap between the top and the filling ending. The custard was pretty generic too. Nothing overly exciting there. It turns out the Swedish really love their custard! You can buy it in all sorts of forms, pre made in cartons etc. 
Mag really enjoyed the cake. I can't say I did!! I mean if I had to I would eat it.

Vikx - 4 out of 10 
Mag - 6 out of 10

Last but not least the designer magnum! We spotted this the other day but declined to by it was it was pretty expensive. Roughly £2.50. Not too far off what we would pay at home but still. Ive got things to save my money for! 

Here its is a Dolce & Gabbana ice cream! 

The flavour is pistachio and with white chocolate and chocolate chunks.  

It certainly looked pretty, but what matters is how it tastes! I forgot to take a photo of the first bite :( 

What I did not realise was that the ice cream was rock freaking solid. Not like a normal magnum which you can bite into and hear the fantastic crack of the chocolate. Oh no this was bite in, get some chocolate and then leave your teeth embedded in the ice cream.....

Once I left it for a little while to soften, I was able to take a bit and see what was inside. The ice cream was creamy, with chunks of pistachio and chocolate. Now the mix of white chocolate on the outside with the milk or dark on the inside was a bit odd. 

Both mag and I agree that it would be much nicer if they chose just one type of chocolate and stuck to it. Instead of mixing them all together. In fact mag only ate his half after I ate all the chocolate off it first! 

Over all for the price, I would say its totally not worth it. I feel like you only really paid for the fancy box. Why not just shove it in a normal foil bag like the rest. Or is that not good enough for ones designer ice cream... Hummm

I can honestly say we will not be trying on of these again, unlike the fantastic strawberry and white chocolate one we found. That one we would eat again! 

Vikx - 3 out of 10 
Mag - 7 out of 10 (only without all the white chocolate on it) 

TTFN 


No comments:

Post a Comment